A look inside The Jazz Gallery

Angela Morris, Drew Williams, and Hye Seon Hong. Photos courtesy of the artists.

This Thursday, January 17, The Jazz Gallery is proud to present the latest volume of our large ensemble Jazz Composers’ Showcase. This long-running series has given emerging composers the opportunity to work with a top-flight New York big band, many of whom have gone onto lead acclaimed ensembles of their own. This week’s show will feature work by composers Angela Morris, Drew Williams, and Hye Seon Hong.

Morris is a saxophonist originally from Toronto and an alumna of the BMI Jazz Composer’s Workshop. She performs with a number of aesthetically omnivorous groups, including her quintet Rallidae and co-leads “a jagged-edged [big] band,” with saxophonist Anna Webber, “that has begun to turn musicians’ heads,” according to Giovanni Russonello of the New York Times. Check out Morris’s composition “Both Are True” performed by that ensemble, below.

A native Missourian, Drew Williams came to New York in 2011 to study jazz composition at NYU. Since then, he has assembled an eleven-piece outfit, Wing Walker Orchestra, to play his original compositions. The group will release their debut album, Hazel, in February, featuring a suite of compositions inspired by the space opera comic book series Saga. Listen to a preview of the suite’s sixth movement, “Heists (or Your Majesty), below:

Like Williams, Korean-born composer Hye Seon Hong studied at NYU. In 2017, she released her debut big band album, EE-YA-GI, featuring acclaimed soloists Ingrid Jensen on trumpet and Rich Perry on tenor saxophone. In some of her compositions, like “Harvest Dance,” Hong synthesizes contemporary big band sounds with traditional Korean rhythms.

Don’t miss this opportunity to hear three distinctive compositional voices share The Jazz Gallery stage.

The Jazz Gallery presents The Jazz Composers’ Showcase, vol. 12, on Thursday, January 17, 2019. The ensemble will perform works by Angela Morris, Drew Williams, and Hye Seon Hong, and features Ben Kono, Michael Thomas, John Lowery, Anna Webber, and Andrew Gutauskas on woodwinds; Mike Fahie, Andy Clausen, Brian Drye, and Rebecca Patterson on trombones; Sam Hoyt, Danny Jonokuchi, Matt Holman, and Dave Smith on trumpets; Olli Hirvonen on guitar; Carmen Staaf on piano; Evan Gregor on bass; and Jared Schonig on drums. Sets are at 7:30 and 9:30 P.M. $15 general admission (FREE for members), $20 reserved cabaret seating ($10 for members) for each set. Purchase tickets here.